All-Time Chicago Cubs Draft

All-Time Chicago Cubs Draft

This article is part of our MLB Observations series.

For Tuesday's Sirius XM Show, Jeff Erickson, Andy Behrens and I decided to draft the greatest all-time Chicago Cubs. Behrens was our guest, so he got to pick first. 

Here are the results:

1BehrensSammy Sosa
1LissRon Santo
1EricksonRyne Sandberg
2EricksonErnie Banks
2LissCap Anson
2BehrensRogers Hornsby
3BehrensJavier Baez
3LissFerguson Jenkins
3EricksonBilly Williams
4EricksonGreg Maddux
4LissMordecai Brown
4BehrensHack Wilson
5BehrensKris Bryant
5LissPete Alexander
5EricksonAndre Dawson
6EricksonGabby Hartnett
6LissHippo Vaughn
6BehrensBruce Sutter
7BehrensKerry Wood
7LissFrank Chance
7EricksonCarlos Zambrano
8EricksonRick Sutcliffe
8LissAnthony Rizzo
8BehrensJake Arrieta
9BehrensDerrek Lee
9LissJoe Tinker
9EricksonMark Prior
10EricksonLee Smith
10LissKiki Cuyler
10BehrensAlfonso Soriano
11BehrensRick Reuschel
11LissAndy Pafko
11EricksonMoises Alou
12EricksonMark Grace
12LissKyle Hendricks
12BehrensDave Kingman
13BehrensJon Lester
13LissHank Sauer
13EricksonCharlie Root
14EricksonBill Madlock
14LissAramis Ramirez
14BehrensKyle Schwarber
15BehrensBill Lee
15LissJohn Clarkson
15EricksonShawon Dunston

I realized after taking Ron Santo – a worthy No. 2 overall pick – that Erickson was in the best spot, with Ernie Banks and Ryne Sandberg at the turn. But Santo had the higher WAR than either and is also in the Hall of Fame. 

I went old school with Cap Anson in the second round after discovering he qualified at catcher, but that was a little cheap, I'll admit. 

Here are the teams by position:

CKyle SchwarberCap AnsonGabby Hartnett
1BDerrek LeeFrank ChanceMark Grace
2BRogers HornsbyAnthony RizzoRyne Sandberg
3BKris BryantRon SantoBill Madlock
SSJavy BaezJoe TinkerErnie Banks
OF1Sammy SosaKiki CuylerBilly Williams
OF2Hack WilsonAndy PafkoAndre Dawson
OF3Alfonso SorianoHank SauerMoises Alou
UTDave KingmanAramis RamirezShawon Dunston
P1Bruce SutterFerguson JenkinsGreg Maddux
P2Kerry WoodMordecai BrownCarlos Zambrano
P3Jake AriettaPete AlexanderRick Sutcliffe
P4Rick ReuschelHippo VaughnMark Prior
P5Jon LesterKyle HendricksLee Smith
P6Bill LeeJohn ClarksonCharlie Root

RotoWire Community
Join Our Subscriber-Only MLB Chat
Chat with our writers and other RotoWire MLB fans for all the pre-game info and in-game banter.
Join The Discussion
Jeff Erickson
Jeff Erickson is a co-founder of RotoWire and the only two-time winner of Baseball Writer of the Year from the Fantasy Sports Writers Association. He's also in the FSWA Hall of Fame. He roots for the Reds, Bengals, Red Wings, Pacers and Northwestern University (the real NU).
Chris Liss
Chris Liss is RotoWire's Managing Editor and Host of RotoWIre Fantasy Sports Today on Sirius XM radio.
FanDuel MLB: Friday Targets
FanDuel MLB: Friday Targets
Yahoo DFS Baseball: Friday Picks
Yahoo DFS Baseball: Friday Picks
DraftKings MLB: Friday Picks
DraftKings MLB: Friday Picks
Oak's Corner: Final Week FAAB Targets
Oak's Corner: Final Week FAAB Targets
Mound Musings: The 2020 Season Pitching Awards Issue
Mound Musings: The 2020 Season Pitching Awards Issue
Yahoo DFS Baseball: Thursday Picks
Yahoo DFS Baseball: Thursday Picks